Happy Friday! Some reminders about things going on

Hi, all! I’m still on the road (back this coming weekend), but I did want to just say HOWDY and offer a few reminders of things that are going on.

The Golden Crown Literary Society (GCLS) is holding its annual conference in Las Vegas, NV July 4-8. Details about the conference are available HERE. For those not in the know, here’s what GCLS is, via their website: “The Golden Crown Literary Society (GCLS) is a 501(c)3 non-profit, volunteer organization whose mission is education and the promotion and recognition of lesbian literature.”

The conference includes panels that are geared toward readers and writers, autograph sessions with writers, fun events, a keynote address, a special address, and an awards ceremony.

Dirt Road Books wants YOU to write a manuscript and submit it for possible contracting in the #mybook challenge. Details HERE. (Full disclosure; I and Jove Belle are two of the founders of DRB.) You have until August 31 to get your manuscript in. Good luck!

ClexaCon announced that ticket sales for its 2019 gathering in Las Vegas, NV (April 11-15) will be going on sale in July. The event will again be held at the Tropicana Hotel, and room reservations are already in progress. ALL ticket sales commence July 1 at 1 PM PST (2 PM MST; 3 PM CST; 4 PM EST and here’s your world clock to figure out when that is outside the US). That’s ALL tickets. Every level. There are different prices for event packages and you can find all that info on the ClexaCon website. You’ll also find lots of info on the ClexaCon Twitter feed: @ClexaCon

AND ClexaCon’s first pop-up UK event is slated for London, Nov. 3-4! Get details HERE.

For those not in the know, ClexaCon is “the first and largest multi-fandom event for LGBTQ women and allies, ClexaCon brings together thousands of diverse LGBTQ fans and content creators from around the world to celebrate positive representation for LGBTQ women in the media.” There’s been lots of media around it; here’s an article to give you a taste. Also, my colleague Lise MacTague and I interviewed a few of the ClexaCon organizers in March, 2018. Check it out.

And here’s a list of other LGBTQ-friendly cons you might want to check out.

Okay, friends. That’s just a bit of what’s going on out there — if you have an event coming up or you know of one or perhaps you have a call for submissions, let us know! We’ll be glad to help spread the word.

Happy Friday and may the odds be ever in our favor.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s